Friday, 7/15/11: I Think I’m Addicted to TV


I’ve slowly been coming to this realization, but first verbalized it in public today: For a girl who doesn’t watch TV, I watch a whole hell of a lot of TV. My TV and DVD player have been unplugged for months, but that doesn’t mean I don’t still have a problem. Thanks to Hulu and, ahem, (il)legal torrent sites, I have every show and episode at my fingertips whenever I need a fix. And each time I’m caught up on a show, instead of saying to myself, “OK, Bex, nothing left in your Hulu queue, why don’t you go do that load of laundry piling up on the floor,” instead I search recommendations. I mean, if Hulu says I’ll like it, then why not give it a try. It’s getting a little out of hand.

In the spirit of full disclosure, here’s my list: 30 Rock, Better With You, Breaking In, Castle, Community, Cougar Town, Curb Your Enthusiasm, Dexter, Eastbound & Down, Entourage, Glee, The Glee Project, Happy Endings, How I Met Your Mother, It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, The League, Louie, Melissa & Joey, Modern Family, The Office, Outsourced, Parks & Recreation, Perfect Couples, Pretty Little Liars, Sons of Anarchy, Traffic Light, True Blood, Unhitched, The Voice, Weeds, Misfits

Ended, but I’ve seen the entire runs and sometimes jump back for marathons when the mood strikes: Arrested Development, Better Off Ted, The Book Club, Lipstick Jungle, The Office (British), Sex and the City

Shows I really like, but which aren’t on Hulu/available for convenient download: The Amazing Race, Chelsey Lately, The Soup, Tosh.0

Fuck. I just got concerned. Like, for real. Granted, a few of those are just fillers that I don’t really care about but I’ve subscribed to on Hulu as a last resort in desperately bored times, but still. I work full-time, coach around 9 hours a week, WOD for far too many hours a week with Megha and manage to squeeze in some pretty epic binge drinking nights on the weekends. How do I even have time to watch all those shows?? Is there a Betty Ford center for TV addiction? Bc I think I need to take a siesta or two out there.

How many TV shows do y’all watch? Can anyone make me feel better? Let’s see y’all’s lists.

… Back to the original thought that sparked the above rant and realization …

Confession: Sons of Anarchy has me daydreaming about life in a motorcycle gang. I’m only halfway thru the first season, but damn. I am so hooked. Warning for those trying to lean out: this show will cause stress, which will cause cortisol production, which may lead to extra padding around the midsection. Yeah, it’s that good.

OK, so, life in a motorcycle gang:

Pro: hot, long-haired rebel on a Harley who can kick ass/blow shit up while still maintaining an air of sensitivity by caring about his junkie ex, his dead pops and his premature nugget. Double plus, his name is Jax.

Jackson ‘Jax’ Teller: [voiceover, reading his fathers memoirs] A true outlaw finds the balance between the passion in his heart and the reason in his mind. The outcome is the balance of might and right.

Con: I don’t think hot, sensitive motorcycle rebels exist in the real world. I’m guessing the majority of actual biker gang members more closely resemble Tig and he creeps me the fuck out. Second, Katey Sagal (aka, Peggy from Married w/Children) as the momma bear scares the bejesus out of me.

(Side note: This week, I learned what Sam Crow stands for in the context of the show. Do you know?)

Videos of the week:

This entry was posted in Links and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday, 7/15/11: I Think I’m Addicted to TV

  1. Paul Siegel says:

    Community, Bones, Treme, Game of Thrones, Mad Men, The League, sometimes Parks and Recreation and House Hunters International. These are the one I make a point of staying caught up on. There are some (Modern Family, The Middle, Royal Pains, Covert Affairs) that i’ll watch if they’re on, but not seek out.
    Still, that is a hell of a lot of tv, how do you find time to be elite? Or perhaps, you are elite because of the TV. Maybe it’s all those light waves and shit.

    Paul

  2. Pingback: Friday, 8/12/11: Update | Not Now Chief, I'm in the F'n Zone …

Leave a Reply

